Welcome to INSYDIUM ONLINE

The place to talk about X-Particles and Cycles 4D

jdk158

Compositing With Cycles 4D

Hello all,

I am a beginner with Cinema 4D still as well as after effects.  Recently I have tried a compositing project with small footage I have.

I have already placed a 3D tracking camera from after effects and opened it inside of Cinema.  The thing I do not know how to do and have not seen any tutorial on is how to composite anything from cinema into after effects.

Below I have attached images of the files and was wondering how would I be able to import the jpg sequence after effects renders to be able to be composited frame by frame into cinema as a background or environment?

Please anyone help me out!  I like cycles but there needs to be either more tutorials or some where i can find more information about this.

Screen Shot 2019-05-20 at 10.56.03 PM.png

Screen Shot 2019-05-20 at 10.55.03 PM.png

I've uploaded an example scene, that splits the cyEnvironment into an HDRI for lighting, and a background image for compositing. You need to use the Alpha Channel checkbox in Render Settings > Save to render with no background image so you can composite it in After Effects

The key is to use a Mix Shader to split your background shader into the camera background and the lighting off camera view. You can't use cyEnvironment's "Controls Texture Rotation", so I've added a mapping node in Cycles4D

HDRI_bg_setup_correct_upload.c4d

Studio_06.tif

bg_image.png

• Like 2

Hi Dave,

Just want to say thanks for the file. I'm new to C4d / Cycles4d and had the same question. This should help a lot.

On 5/21/2019 at 1:21 PM, Dave said:

I've uploaded an example scene, that splits the cyEnvironment into an HDRI for lighting, and a background image for compositing. You need to use the Alpha Channel checkbox in Render Settings > Save to render with no background image so you can composite it in After Effects